In Response to Much Good-Natured Teasing About my Casual Obsession with Facial Hair


 Biologically, if I understand correctly, it’s supposed to be indicative of a man’s ability to carry on his genes.

Historically, it allowed for easy class distinction.

Although it isn’t fashionable for anyone but hipsters and Tom Selleck these days, I still dig the facial hair.

     Facial hair is beautiful. Glorious. Handsome. And this is why:

Facial hair is sexy. Ok, I realize I’m being redundant here, but you need to understand why I like it. I’m not saying old men who mold their hair into weird hair statues.

but it’s easy to see why if you think about it.

I don’t even know who this guy is…

from about.com

The sexiest man alive, Nathan Fillion.

Facial hair can turn a weak chin into a strong jaw, a decent looking fellow into a down right storybook hero, and a characterless face into one that says something about its owner. Think about it; how many novels have you read where the hero wasn’t scruffy and how many old westerns are there where the villain didn’t have a manicured mustache? Facial hair is important. In our society, it says something about the man (and the bearded woman) wearing it. 

Facial hair is just as important to our history as women’s hairstyles. The handlebar and the pompadour share the same fashion plates.

About charliegreenberry

I grew up in the wilds of New Mexico in a strange combination of free and restricted. Now, as I stumble unwillingly into adulthood, I find memories resurfacing. So I dust them off, sand them, slap on a coat of paint and display them with the hopes that at some point they'll make sense and pull the room together. The blog is a space for writing, for sharing, someday sharing without worrying about who is reading it, and a place to practice. Virginia Woolf said, "A woman must have money and a room of her own if she is to write fiction." Well, here's to having a room at least.
This entry was posted in fashion, personality. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In Response to Much Good-Natured Teasing About my Casual Obsession with Facial Hair

  1. Layla says:

    Great stuff. I love your writing.

  2. Caity says:

    Yes! Facial scruff is the best! There are very few men (Matt Smith is one of them) who look better without a little scruff. Mostly, scruff=sexy.

Leave a Reply

