Adventures in Adulthood:Lunchtime Blog


Someone’s going to take away my adult card, and, to tell the truth, I’d be very happy if they did. Sure, adulthood is full of many wonderful things: I can buy lottery tickets, tobacco, and alcohol, I can pay bills, I get to set my own bedtime and then wonder why I’m sleepy and in need of gallons of coffee in the morning, I still can’t legally rent a car for another 5 months, but that’s just because rental companies are jackwagons. But my utter and complete failure as an adult should really influence the powers that be to come take away the job and the car keys and hand me a barbie, plant me in a pile of mud, and pat me on my head. Maybe if they’re nice they’ll throw in some red vines.

Last night, in a fit of adulthood brought on by the fact that I’d done laundry AND dishes AND vacuumed all in the same day, I decided I was grown up enough to put up the wall applique I picked up at Hobby Lobby.

Let me preface this by saying: Damn you Hobby Lobby and damn anyone who doesn’t stay up with a candle in their window all night damning you.

Ahem…

The directions said this was easy. The sign said this was easy. I should have known it was going to test everything I thought I knew about the word easy.

In the picture, a happy tree branched out from behind a model furniture. Little bird silhouettes chirped happily from their perch. It looked like just the sort of thing to set a relaxing atmosphere in my otherwise cluttered bedroom.

Wrong.

First thing I do is unroll the giant sticker and lay it flat, you know, like an adult would. I take the sticker off the backing. I’m walking carefully to the location I’ve chosen for it. I trip on the carpet.

The sticker wraps in on itself becoming as tangled as any vine has ever been. Where the sticky side meets the picture, it rips the ink off.  The tree looks more like a tumbleweed. I begin carefully pulling the sticker apart when it happens. The damn thing rips. I do what any sensible person would do: I throw it at the wall and throw around  a few mothers of bad things and sons of other bad things.

I throw myself on my bed, grab my phone and update my facebook status. Again, these are all very sensible adult things to do.

“What made me think I have the patience and skill to put stick-on things on my walls? Mother of bad things!!”

Notice the excessive punctuation. I should also note that at this time, Facebook tried to sell me a baby dragon. I am failing at adulthood and decoration as Facebook is trying to give me a fire-breathing infant. Good call. Also, where do they get dragons from?

Calm (er), I return to the project at hand. I decide the sucker will go up in pieces just as well as it would have in 1 piece. So I start tearing like crazy.

I once entered a drawing to win a fixer-up-er in North Carolina. Perhaps it’s a good thing I never won.

I lost track of where my new puzzle pieces went. At this point, there’s a willy-nilly tree on my wall, looking like the worst part of winter in New Mexico. It also looks as though it has been gnawed by elk.

Great.

There are extra branches to fill in spaces. It’ll look fine. But wait, there’s more. Why does this branch have different leaves? Most of the tree is ginkgo, this one branch is oak. What the hell, Hobby Lobby? Am I supposed to pretend that we are splicing trees together? Progressive.

Birds! The birds that came with the kit will cover up frankentree’s scars.

There. That looks… scary.

Sorry it’s so dark. Apparently my room is also dark and spooky. Guess I won’t be sleeping… ever. Notice how the birds look like they are going to swoop down and peck your eyes out Alfred Hitchcock style. They’re plotting my demise as we speak, probably. 

About charliegreenberry

I grew up in the wilds of New Mexico in a strange combination of free and restricted. Now, as I stumble unwillingly into adulthood, I find memories resurfacing. So I dust them off, sand them, slap on a coat of paint and display them with the hopes that at some point they'll make sense and pull the room together. The blog is a space for writing, for sharing, someday sharing without worrying about who is reading it, and a place to practice. Virginia Woolf said, "A woman must have money and a room of her own if she is to write fiction." Well, here's to having a room at least.
This entry was posted in adulthood, fail, personality, quirk, shopping. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Adventures in Adulthood:Lunchtime Blog

  1. Teresa Cipriano says:

    I know which stickers those are, too! People always complained about them when I had to do the returns/exchanges lane! I’m sorry you had such bad luck with them. But in this instance, you could either turn emo and dark out your room…or you could go the creepy Victorian route and do like Tim Burton blood red decor! Just trying to make light of this poor situation. Damn stickers. I think there comes a point in all adults where apparently we aren’t allowed to use stickers for decoration anymore; we have to, you know, be adults and hand paint things or pay for someone else to do it for us….say, you got an extra Barbie or Ken that I can ditch my adultness with!?

    • Let’s get our pennies together and go buy some barbies. Maybe our moms will chip in if we are really goo dand do lots of chores. I was actually thinking that creepy bird theme might not be such a terrible idea. I’ll have to make new curtains…

  2. Caity says:

    The sticker thing didn’t turn out horrible…but I do agree that the birds are kinda creepy. They look like the doom-birds!

  3. hotshot bald cop says:

    Right on my man!

  4. I was reading through some of your blog posts on this website and I conceive this website is very informative ! Continue posting .

  5. Ilana Kitto says:

    Great post, I think website owners should acquire a lot from this website its really user genial. So much great info on here :D.

  6. Jean Guo says:

    Thanks for all your efforts that you have put in this. very interesting info . “The price of greatness is responsibility.” by Sir Winston Leonard Spenser Churchill.

  7. Some really wonderful information, Gladiolus I found this. “Anonymity is the truest expression of altruism.” by Eric Gibson.

  8. Luigi Fulk says:

    Regards for this rattling post, I am glad I discovered this website on yahoo.

Leave a Reply

