Writing With Someone Else’s Pen


I have three novels going at once. I doubt any of them will ever actually see the light of day, but it’s fun to work through them anyway. One of the problems I inevitably have with them is character voice. I know my voice. I know how to create it, it, of course, feels natural to write from my own pen. If a character is penning a letter or a poem, I feel unnatural, scared, out-of-place, like I’m writing with someone else’s pen.

So to stretch myself and to make those character letters and poems have a little character, I’ve assigned myself a writing assignment. I’ll share it here on the off chance that someone feels like it’ll help him/her too.

Step one: Choose a situation that characters would want to talk about. I’m choosing an alien invasion.

Step two: Beg, steal and borrow pens from people and institutions but not stores. Keep track of where you got the pens from.

Step 3: Write between 500 and 550 words  the event with each pen and in the owner’s voice. Make copies, and return the original with the pen.

Step 4: Prepare to either make people laugh or lose some friends.

About charliegreenberry

I grew up in the wilds of New Mexico in a strange combination of free and restricted. Now, as I stumble unwillingly into adulthood, I find memories resurfacing. So I dust them off, sand them, slap on a coat of paint and display them with the hopes that at some point they'll make sense and pull the room together. The blog is a space for writing, for sharing, someday sharing without worrying about who is reading it, and a place to practice. Virginia Woolf said, "A woman must have money and a room of her own if she is to write fiction." Well, here's to having a room at least.
This entry was posted in grammar, inspiration, people, quirk, teaching, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

