The Seven Stages of Grading or Why Teachers Hate the End of Term


For the Teacher

Shock and Denial: Where did all these papers come from? Did I have this many students at the beginning? If I put them all in one stack, they could fall on me and no one would find me until the posting deadline passed.

Pain and Guilt: Why did I assign portfolios? Is it worth it to make them cite correctly? If I had just shortened the assignment by one page, I could have saved 15 pages of reading.

Anger and Bargaining: Oh, many types of people do different types of things. I see. How clever. If I grade this stack I’ll give myself permission to order pizza.

Depression, Reflection, loneliness: I have no life. I only grade papers. I don’t have friends; I have grading pens. I miss people. I only speak in simple sentences now.

Upward Turn: Well, they’re really just starting out, and their work did improve. Only four more to go in this class.  Woohoo!

Acceptance and Hope: You know, this isn’t bad. Decent papers. This is something they can build on. I’m ready to plan for next semester.

Grading is a rollercoaster. Luckily, it’s over for me this semester. I always have to remind myself that grading is miserable no matter how my students and I do. Even really well-written papers get tedious.

So now you know why I haven’t posted in ages, and why I’m excusing myself to go jump into the very large pile of paperbacks I just picked up. Ooh boy do I deserve a break.

About charliegreenberry

I grew up in the wilds of New Mexico in a strange combination of free and restricted. Now, as I stumble unwillingly into adulthood, I find memories resurfacing. So I dust them off, sand them, slap on a coat of paint and display them with the hopes that at some point they'll make sense and pull the room together. The blog is a space for writing, for sharing, someday sharing without worrying about who is reading it, and a place to practice. Virginia Woolf said, "A woman must have money and a room of her own if she is to write fiction." Well, here's to having a room at least.
This entry was posted in adulthood, grammar, lists, teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

