In which Chuck Greenberry Loses all Her Followers


I have done a thing I strive not to do: I have written a public letter to a politician, and, in so doing, shared my opinions. Gasp! I have tucked the letter nicely below to share because this subject is one about which I am passionate, and I can keep my tongue no longer.

Please, if you are of delicate political senses and will grow angry or uncomfortable, skip this post. The next shall be as light-hearted and tongue-in-cheek as to which you are used. If you are more hardy, read on, but be warned that when angered, I tend to mimic Mary Wollstonecraft.

The letter is in response to an article published by a politician who shall hereby be known as “sir” and for whom I lose no love. There are things I would revise later if I saved this, but as I have fired it off a mere 20 minutes ago, I will simply send it while the ink is still indignant.

Dear sir,

Upon reading your op-ed piece in my university’s newspaper, I realize I shall not be content until I express my opinions on it. I found it sensational, and not in the more modern meaning of the word, which is synonymous with wonderful; beyond the bounds of reasonable political discourse, but then, I believe logic is always better than vague, illusory, fear-mongering statements of near fact; and ironic, considering its religious overtones as it vaguely addresses what I can only assume is the push for socialized healthcare and the alleged attack on the right to practice one’s religion.

As a Christian myself, sir, I fear Jesus will condemn our country as those goats who but think they are sheep. And that we will be confronted by eternity and cry out, “Lord, Lord,” as Jesus passes judgment for our refusal to help the poor and sick. And all for what? All because we are supposed to assume that abortion is a greater sin than denying healthcare to God only knows how many? Or is it because we are to assume that by giving others rights we lose our own?

I personally look forward to socialized healthcare in this country, for it means my parents—darling, tax-paying citizens—will be able to go to the doctor without fear of losing everything if something serious develops. I have heard arguments that we should be prepared for healthcare needs by saving money, and I can agree that is a good and proper thing to do. However, I must argue that sometimes situation does not allow for cushion, and for many, born into poverty and without access to the illusive and metaphorical bootstraps by which Americans pull themselves up into prosperity, a catastrophic health event is enough for full financial ruin.

                I grant you, there are legitimate fears to consider when we approach the topic. For one, greed is a concern, but as we see, greed exists in all realms. To throw out a plan that could save lives and make others more manageable because people may be greedy is to tear down Mount Rushmore because George Washington told a lie. It is, in fact, not because you appear to be opposed to healthcare that I write. Rather, I enjoy the benefit of diverse opinion, relish it, even as I hope healthcare reform works. I condemn you, sir, on your implication that President Obama is somehow evil and anti-church because he creates a law built upon precedence and seeks to provide comfort to those who cannot afford it. Is that not the very process by which we do things here? The fear mongering I see in your article is not, as you say, a result of the unfairness or un-constitutionalism of the changes, but from one tiny portion: that birth control and abortions are counted as legitimate medical issues.

                The church must stop trying to affect laws that do not attempt to directly undermine the Constitutional right to worship as one sees fit, for none can be moral in a place where there is no room for deviation. Furthermore, if politicians do not stop trying to cater to religion, then I imagine the judgment shall be ever harsher, for did not Jesus hold leaders to higher standard than their flocks? And hypocrisy is not a trifle sin. Don’t be a fool who continues to manipulate the masses using Jesus as your cattle prod. It will not end well. You are dealing in the currency of fear of Hell, and the exchange rates are costly for the nation as well as the individual. If you truly were what you say, you would not have rolled your eyes as you read this. If you read this.

                And here is a paragraph in which I grow petty. I pray that God shows you someday what it is to be a woman. Just a glimpse. I hope that then you will see what a gift it is to have the right to control the responsibilities that nature has so liberally granted us. If you understood the fear, power, and wonder that are within the reproductive system, then you would not dare consider yourself qualified to determine how it should be used.

Sincerely,

A Voter

About charliegreenberry

I grew up in the wilds of New Mexico in a strange combination of free and restricted. Now, as I stumble unwillingly into adulthood, I find memories resurfacing. So I dust them off, sand them, slap on a coat of paint and display them with the hopes that at some point they'll make sense and pull the room together. The blog is a space for writing, for sharing, someday sharing without worrying about who is reading it, and a place to practice. Virginia Woolf said, "A woman must have money and a room of her own if she is to write fiction." Well, here's to having a room at least.
This entry was posted in adulthood, cheating, family, history, inspiration, people, politics, religion, war, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In which Chuck Greenberry Loses all Her Followers

  1. dederants says:

    Reblogged this on DeDeRants and commented:
    *APPLAUDS*

  2. Wow, you are TRULY an amazing writer!

    I also agree with your position on health care. I live in Canada and the majority of health costs are paid for through taxes. This means that certain family members with serious illnesses are not living on the streets.

    I am wondering to whom this is in response. As I said, I’m Canadian, and am not as informed as I should be in regards to American politics.

    In any event, you’re an incredible writer. I love your writing style and seriously let me know if you’ve published anything. I will buy it.

    • Wow, thank you so very much for the compliment. No I do not have anything published, but I am working on it. For the most part, when I speak to Canadians (which, grant you, isn’t often because I live on the other US border) they seem pleased with their healthcare. That gives me hope. This letter is in response to one of New Mexico’s Congressmen, Steve Pearce. He posted a “talking points” letter in our local news. I cannot fault you for not knowing US politics when most of us don’t know any other country’s.

Leave a Reply

